Smoke and dust

by Joy McCullough-Carranza

Directed by Amy Poisson

Produced in association with Theatre Off Jackson

Intrigue surrounds Barbara Strozzi, an ambitious 17th century composer rumored to be a courtesan. Her brilliance and musical talent are dismissed in a male-dominated profession that stifles female musicians. In Smoke And Dust, a modern acting troupe explores Strozzi’s music and the personal life of this historical figure: was she a victim, or an empowered woman defying society’s moralistic expectations? Playwright McCullough-Carranza deftly weaves together past and present as characters in both timelines struggle against the limits society places on a woman’s ambition.

Intrigue surrounds Barbara Strozzi, an ambitious 17th century composer rumored to be a courtesan. Her brilliance and musical talent are dismissed in a male-dominated profession that stifles female musicians. In Smoke And Dust, a modern acting troupe explores Strozzi’s music and the personal life of this historical figure: was she a victim, or an empowered woman defying society’s moralistic expectations? Playwright McCullough-Carranza deftly weaves together past and present as characters in both timelines struggle against the limits society places on a woman’s ambition.

8:00 PM Wednesday, March 21 - Pay What You Can Preview

8:00 PM Friday, March 23 - Opening night

8:00 PM Saturday, March 24

8:00 PM Thursday, March 29

8:00 PM Friday March 30

8:00 PM Saturday March 31

8:00 PM Monday April 2 - PWYC Industry Night

8:00 PM Thursday April 5

8:00 PM Friday April 6

8:00 PM Saturday April 7

2:00 PM Sunday April 8 

Smoke and dust graphic.jpg

8:00 PM Thursday April 12

8:00 PM Friday April 13

8:00 PM Saturday April 14

Buy tickets...soon

Contact tickets@machatheatreworks.com with questions

All performances at the Theatre Off Jackson

409 7th Ave S. Seattle, WA 98104

Please leave plenty of time for parking, especially for weekend performances.